Aug. 29 to
Sept. 2, 2002
San José
  Corner graphic  
HomeAbout ConJose: All of your questions answeredAbout San Jose: Our facilities, where to go, where to eat, how to travelGuests of Honor: Our most honored membersMembership: How to join, check your membership, buy stuffHotels: Where to stay, how to book, PartiesPublications: Progress reports, press releases and lots more information about the conventionProgramming: Our main program, and who will be appearingEvents: The Masquerade, Hugo Ceremony, competitions and other big stuffExhibits: Dealers, Art Show, Exhibitions, Internet LoungeHospitality: Con Suite, Fan Lounge, DancesWSFS: Business Meeting, Hugo Voting, Site SelectionSpecial Requirements: Child care, handicapped, foreign languageStaff list and contact informationWeb Site: What's new, Site map, Technical Info, CreditsLinks: Lots of Bay Area linksPhoto Gallery: Pictures from the convention  

Speculative Fiction
Writers Workshop

The ConJosé writers workshop is no longer accepting entries. As of this writing, all participants are studying their assigned manuscripts for evaluation at the convention. In the meantime, we'd like to thank the following industry professionals and experienced workshop moderators for contributing their services to this year's Worldcon:

Roger MacBride Allen Bill Fawcett C. J. Mills
Gerri Balter Sheila Finch Devon Monk
Janice Bennett Leslie Gadallah Mike Moscoe
Judith Berman ElizaBeth Gilligan Kevin A. Murphy
Maya Kaathryn Bohnoff James C. Glass Kathleen H. Nelson
Kent Brewster Howard V. Hendrix, Ph.D. G. David Nordley
David Brin, Ph.D. P. C. Hodgell Jody Lynn Nye
Charlene Brusso Rachel Holmen Kevin O'Donnell, Jr
Jennifer Carson Elizabeth Anne Hull Joy Oestreicher
Ann Chamberlin Derek James Jerry Oltion
Rob Chilson Michael Jasper Gerald Pearce
Richard Chwedyk James Patrick Kelly Irene Radford
Paul Clayton Rick Kennett Ken Rand
Hal Clement Carolyn Kephart, Ph.D. Karl Schroeder
Tess Collins, Ph.D. Lee Killough Bradley H. Sinor
Brenda Cooper Mark Kreighbaum James Stevens-Arce
Lillian Csernica Denise Lee Lucy Sussex
Kathleen Dalton-Woodbury Jacqueline Lichtenberg Jefferson P. Swycaffer
Cory Doctorow Jean Lorrah, Ph.D. James Van Pelt
Scott Edelman Sophie Masson Katie Waitman
Raymund Eich Sean McMullen Cynthia Ward
Nancy Etchemendy Sasha Miller Michelle West

We cannot promise which manuscript any author will critique.

How it works

This is not a competition. Participants work in a quiet, secluded room to elaborate on the story structure, logistics, and style of the entrants' submissions. Due to the critical nature of this workshop, it is not recommended for anyone under 18 or anyone who is sensitive to criticism.

All manuscripts must be submitted in advance, since there will be no on-the-spot reading for critiques. You will also need to be prepared to attend your section, which can be assigned any of the five days at the convention. Each section lasts three hours.

There is a nominal entry fee that covers photocopying and postage costs. Multiple submissions are accepted; however, the entry fee is for one manuscript only. Because of possible limitations in scheduling, we can only guarantee that one submission per member will be workshopped. We ask that each additional entry fee be covered by separate checks, in case it needs to be returned. Second submissions are scheduled on a first-come-first-served basis. Please specify the priority by which you want your manuscripts workshopped.

Entrants are not permitted to pay double the fee to double the word limit. Collaborative teams are treated as a single entity. Likewise, two or more short stories count as two or more entries, regardless of whether they're under the word limit when combined.

ConJosé Writers Workshop
P.O. Box 6783
San Jose, CA 95150-6783



If you experience any problems with this site please report them to

"ConJosé" is a service mark of San Francisco Science Fiction Conventions, Inc. (SFSFC), a California non-profit corporation recognized as tax-exempt under IRC 501(c)(3). The ConJosé logo was created by and is © 2001 David Cherry, and is a service mark of SFSFC. This web site is © 2002 SFSFC except where otherwise noted. "Worldcon," "World Science Fiction Convention," "WSFS," "World Science Fiction Society," "NASFiC," and "Hugo Award" are registered service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society.    ConJosé Privacy Policy