Aug. 29 to
Sept. 2, 2002
San José
  Corner graphic  
HomeAbout ConJose: All of your questions answeredAbout San Jose: Our facilities, where to go, where to eat, how to travelGuests of Honor: Our most honored membersMembership: How to join, check your membership, buy stuffHotels: Where to stay, how to book, PartiesPublications: Progress reports, press releases and lots more information about the conventionProgramming: Our main program, and who will be appearingEvents: The Masquerade, Hugo Ceremony, competitions and other big stuffExhibits: Dealers, Art Show, Exhibitions, Internet LoungeHospitality: Con Suite, Fan Lounge, DancesWSFS: Business Meeting, Hugo Voting, Site SelectionSpecial Requirements: Child care, handicapped, foreign languageStaff list and contact informationWeb Site: What's new, Site map, Technical Info, CreditsLinks: Lots of Bay Area linksPhoto Gallery: Pictures from the convention  

This Year's Chesley Award Winners

The Chesleys are the premier awards for science fiction and fantasy art, voted on by members of ASFA (Association of Science Fiction and Fantasy Artists), much like the Nebulas.

The Association of Science Fiction and Fantasy Artists is pleased to announce the winners of this year's Chesley Awards:

  • Award for Artistic Achievement (133 votes)Donato Giancola
  • Best Cover Hardback (133 votes)Donato Giancola, Ashling
  • Best Cover Paperback (133 votes)- Donato Giancola, The Hobbit
  • Best Cover Magazine (133 votes)- James C. Christensen, The Leading
  • Best Interior Illustration (134 votes)- Tom Kidd, The War of the Worlds
  • Best Gaming-Related Illustration (134 votes)- Donato Giancola, Shivan Dragon
  • Best Product Illustration (135 votes)- Kinuko Y. Craft, Die Walkure
  • Best Art Director (124 votes)- Paul Barnett, Paper Tiger
  • Best Three-Dimensional Art (128 votes)- Johnna Klukas, Hall of the Mountain King
  • Best Monochrome Work: Unpublished (131 votes)- Tom Kidd, The Fairies of Spellcaster
  • Best Color Work: Unpublished (132 votes)- Anne Sudworth, The Snow Tree
  • Award for Contribution to ASFA (124 votes)- Geoffrey Surette for ASFA Webpage redesign and management



If you experience any problems with this site please report them to

"ConJosé" is a service mark of San Francisco Science Fiction Conventions, Inc. (SFSFC), a California non-profit corporation recognized as tax-exempt under IRC 501(c)(3). The ConJosé logo was created by and is © 2001 David Cherry, and is a service mark of SFSFC. This web site is © 2002 SFSFC except where otherwise noted. "Worldcon," "World Science Fiction Convention," "WSFS," "World Science Fiction Society," "NASFiC," and "Hugo Award" are registered service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society.    ConJosé Privacy Policy