Aug. 29 to
Sept. 2, 2002
San José
  Corner graphic  
HomeAbout ConJose: All of your questions answeredAbout San Jose: Our facilities, where to go, where to eat, how to travelGuests of Honor: Our most honored membersMembership: How to join, check your membership, buy stuffHotels: Where to stay, how to book, PartiesPublications: Progress reports, press releases and lots more information about the conventionProgramming: Our main program, and who will be appearingEvents: The Masquerade, Hugo Ceremony, competitions and other big stuffExhibits: Dealers, Art Show, Exhibitions, Internet LoungeHospitality: Con Suite, Fan Lounge, DancesWSFS: Business Meeting, Hugo Voting, Site SelectionSpecial Requirements: Child care, handicapped, foreign languageStaff list and contact informationWeb Site: What's new, Site map, Technical Info, CreditsLinks: Lots of Bay Area linksPhoto Gallery: Pictures from the convention  

Press Releases

Press Release #33

PO Box 61363, Sunnyvale CA 94088-1363 USA;

For immediate release: Thursday, September 5, 2002, 6:00 a.m. Pacific Daylight Time


The 2002 Hugo Awards for achievement in science fiction and fantasy were presented at a ceremony on Sunday, September 1 at the 60th World Science Fiction Convention, also known as "ConJosé." The Hugo Awards are presented by the World Science Fiction Society, whose membership consists of the members of the annual World Science Fiction Convention ("Worldcon").

The Hugo Awards were presented in the following 13 categories, along with the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer.

Best Novel: American Gods by Neil Gaiman (Morrow)

Best Novella: "Fast Times at Fairmont High" by Vernor Vinge (The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge, Tor)

Best Novelette: "Hell Is the Absence of God" by Ted Chiang (Starlight 3, Tor)

Best Short Story: "The Dog Said Bow-Wow" by Michael Swanwick (Asimov's 10-11/01)

Best Related Book: The Art of Chesley Bonestell by Ron Miller & Frederick C. Durant III, with Melvin H. Schuetz (Paper Tiger)

Best Dramatic Presentation: The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (New Line Cinema/The Saul Zaentz Company/WingNut Films) Directed by Peter Jackson;
Screenplay by Fran Walsh & Phillipa Boyens & Peter Jackson; Peter Jackson, Barrie M. Osborne and Tim Sanders, Producers; Michael Lynne, Mark Ordesky, Robert Shaye, Bob Weinstein and Harvey Weinstein, Executive Producers.

Best Professional Editor: Ellen Datlow (SciFiction)

Best Pro Artist: Michael Whelan

Best Semiprozine: Locus, edited by Charles N. Brown

Best Fanzine: Ansible, edited by Dave Langford

Best Fan Writer: Dave Langford

Best Fan Artist: Teddy Harvia

Best Web Site: Locus Online, Mark R. Kelly editor/webmaster

Each Worldcon has the right to add a one-time only additional category to the Hugo Awards. ConJosé used this authority to add Best Web Site to the 2002 Hugo Awards ballot.

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer of 2000 or 2001: Jo Walton

The John W. Campbell Award, sponsored by Dell Magazines, is not a Hugo Award, but appears on the same ballot as the Hugo Awards and is administered in the same way as the Hugo Awards.

A detailed breakdown of the results, including the complete voting tallies for first, second, third, etc. places and the nomination counts for the nominees and at least the works or persons with the 15 highest nominating vote counts, is available on the ConJosé web site at


General: Kevin Standlee
Press/Media: Bart Kemper

The 2002 Worldcon, known as ConJosé, will take place at the McEnery Convention Center, San José, California from 29 August through 2 September 2002. More information about ConJosé, including current membership rates, is available from its web site ( or by writing to

To be removed from the ConJosé press release mailing list please write to

"ConJosé" is a service mark of San Francisco Science Fiction Conventions, Inc., a California non-profit corporation recognized as tax exempt under IRC 501(c)(3).

"WSFS", "Worldcon", "World Science Fiction Convention" and "Hugo Award" are registered service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society.



If you experience any problems with this site please report them to

"ConJosé" is a service mark of San Francisco Science Fiction Conventions, Inc. (SFSFC), a California non-profit corporation recognized as tax-exempt under IRC 501(c)(3). The ConJosé logo was created by and is © 2001 David Cherry, and is a service mark of SFSFC. This web site is © 2002 SFSFC except where otherwise noted. "Worldcon," "World Science Fiction Convention," "WSFS," "World Science Fiction Society," "NASFiC," and "Hugo Award" are registered service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society.    ConJosé Privacy Policy